Enlarger falloff

wayne_crider4

Is it normal for there to be as much as a full top fall off at the

edged of a circle of illumination, no matter what size, no matter the

fact that two different heads were used? Both my Bessler condenser

and colorhead show immediate" falloff from center of at least .2

stops within 2 inches of the center of an illumination circle for an

8x10 print. In most cases this approaches a full stop within an inch

of the edge. All bulbs are good. Can my 150mm El-Nikkor (never used)

be to blame? It appears to look ok. And it doesn't matter how stopped

down the lens is. The enlarger is leveled at all stages but the

falloff seems a bit too much. Whats your experience? I'm new at this.

BTW, I'm using a Minolta meter with a flat incident lens to measure,

but you can see the problem visually.

Ermmm.... are you referring to the circle of illumination with the lens shining down to the baseboard without a negative carrier in the light path or *with* a negative carrier in the enlarger?

If the former, pop a neg carrier in the light path and measure again - the illumination circle from the lens is much greater than that needed to cover the neg without significant falloff at the edges.

If you have 1 stop fall off WITH a negative & carrier in the light path then borrow another lens and try that.

Cheers,