Employing Hyperfocal Settings With AF Camera?

markdeneen

<p>This was just discussed recently. And the conclusion was the same as your own. When a lens lacks proper DoF and distance scales,there is no way to accurately use hyperfocal techniques. The best you can do is stop down a lot, and hope for the best. By definition, hyper focal distance must include infinity at it's far end.</p>

<p>I'm new to this idea, so bear with me. In reading the materials on hyperfocal focusing, it would seem as though it is the ONLY proper way to maximize DOF in an image. For instance, one author immediately scoffed at the idea of simply "focusing 1/3 of the way in" as a means of guestimating hyperfocal settings, since both focal length and f-stop affect the hyperfocal distance. </p>

<p>Not to be a wiseguy, but since all new cameras are AF, isn't this "new technology" foreclosing on a crucial photographic technique needed to get proper DOF? In other words, the laws governing lens optics hasn't changed a bit, but the new automated lens is now precluding the operator from achieving the right result? I know I am missing something obvious here, but what?</p>

<p>Hi Mark.</p>

<p>Your analysis is sound! There's no doubt that AF and zooms have eaten away at the art of of correct focusing technique. Firing away at f16 is no good either on an APS-C sensor thanks to diffraction beyond about f11. It's not very creative either. My initial solution was to print off some depth of field tables for common focal lengths. Unfortunately, they are a pain to carry round unless you put the relevant hyperfocal data into some kind of spreadsheet, print to A6 and laminate to take round with you.</p>

<p>I'll have a go at constructing a table in excel and post it somewhere. Or you could make the calculator shown on www.dofmaster.com. You then have the interesting task of trying to work out the focusing distance from less than perfect lens distance markings.</p>

<p> </p>