Employer Ownership of Copyright

bryan_t

<p>I have a feeling like I will be running into some legal issues here, and just wanted anybody's opinion or advice on where you think I might stand. Here's the deal...</p>

<ul>

<li>I coach at a D3 university. My job title is assistant coach, and my contract is to coach.</li>

</ul>

<ul>

<li>I'm also a photographer, and I was offered a small salary bump TO MY COACHING SALARY to provide some of my pictures to the athletic department for brochures and the website, and also to admissions folks for various publications. Admittedly, this was a backdoor way of doing things. The bump was minor, but I have fun shooting sports and I'm grateful for anything additional. Because the bump was minor, I also have permission from the athletic dept (not in writing, unfortunately) to sell prints to parents online.</li>

</ul>

<ul>

<li>I recently started providing prints for the department walls, senior athlete photo collages, etc. in addition to the electronic photos as usual. I have an agreement (again, unwritten) with our athletic director that I could tack a few extra bucks onto the cost of materials for the additional time in production and facilitating the order. The prices were always agreed upon prior, and he would approve my invoices so cost is not an issue.</li>

</ul>

<ul>

<li>However, the university's business office will not cut a check for my invoices because I am an employee of the university and outside contracting could be a conflict of interest. The issue would require further investigation, and in this investigation they somehow decided that I get paid to take photos, they own full rights to the photos, and I should immediately stop selling my photos. They would approve reimbursement of my materials cost if I could submit receipts, nothing more.</li>

</ul>