EF 12 II Extension tube vs. EF 25 Extension tube

danny_best

I ordered the Ef 12 II extension tube from B&H and have not received it yet, and i found out that there was

a larger extension tube ( EF 25). My Question is should i keep the Ef 12 tube or return it and pay the 40$

more for the EF 25? I have Rebel Xt with 28-135mm Canon IS, 100mm Canon Macro, 100-400mm

Canon L Is lens.

I asked a question the other day about adding a canon 1.4x extender to my 100-400 lenses and the

responses i got were great i wanted to say thank you. Alot of the comments said that it the AF would hunt

if attached to the extender. I am kinda new to photography and I'm not up on all the terms and didn't

quite know what that ment.

They also said to tape down the 3 left most pins on the extender. Would i use regular tape? And would this

cause any problems

Sorry for the loaded questions. I'm making these purchases because i will be taking photography classes

next semester and i want to have some good hardware. I have found this site to be very helpful. I will be

writing again to ask about what lenses you may recommend that i get, a( shoot alot of outdoors and some

of my sisters volleyball games) and a flash mount for my camera for my 430 flash.

You will lose AF using a 1.4x on a 100-400 IS on a Rebel XT. If you tape the pins then you can get the camera to attempt to AF. This is unlikely to be very acceptable (similar tricks lead to disappointing behaviour on my 20D and that has better AF than a Rebel XT) but might work if you have a lot of light and a high contrast subject.

Without knowing what you want the extension tube for I can't say which is better. The EF25II is longer than the EF12II. Both feature new digitally optimized air ;) Actually the only difference with the original versions is that the new versions let you mount EF-S lenses. I use a set of three Kenko tubes and they work fine for me with light lenses but will not mount EF-S lenses.