EF 100-400mm manufacturer's dating code.

charles_lipton

I am looking to buy this lens in the very near future. I currently own the 5D and the longest lens I own is the 135mm

L. I am an amateur/hobbyiest photographer. I thought about the 70-200mm f/4L IS but it isn't long enough for what I

would want. I am 60 years old and do not want to drag around more than 2 lenses on any given trip. I thought with

my 24-105mm and the 100-400mm I would have a lens package consisting of only 2 lenses with a span of 24-

400mm. I shoot people, landscapes and animals.

It doesn't appear Canon is going to upgrade or change this lens design any time in the near future. It was pointed

out in another posting that this lens is still very popular and sells off the shelf. Therefore, I read, Canon has no need

to upgrade or change it.

I also read somewhere that later models of this lens are inherently better than earlier models. I don't know why that

would be unless Canon changed something in the lens formula, maybe a new coating process, or secretly tweeked

the IS. My question is this. Does anyone know what was meant by later models and about when that would be? I

don't want to purchase an early version given the cost of the later models is the same.

Thanks....

Charles Lipton

<p>Disclaimer: any discussion of this topic is speculation. That includes what I'm writing below. Take it with a grain of salt.</p>

<p>There are those who suggest that Canon silently made a slipstream change to this lens somewhere along the line, and that later models are better than newer ones. This could be true; if it is, it certainly wouldn't be the first time Canon made such a change. But I wouldn't want to bet anything important (either way) on whether this is the case, and if I had to make a small bet on it, I'd lean toward thinking that the rumours aren't true.</p>