Easy to use - not iMovie6 - Final cut express #?

christian_stahl

<p>I'm a musician (Early Music) and need to make a few documentations over the next few years. I have a DV Camera (Panasonic NV-GS 300), professional audio equipment, and an iMac 20-inch. <br>

I tryed iMovie06, liked it very much, but have several problems:<br>

- I can't integrate pictures/slideshows, because of the image quality (the get converted to DV and look very fuzzy)<br>

- There's only one video track, so cuts are a litte difficult (transitions are very tedious because footage gets used up, and audio sync is difficult to maintain)<br>

I had heared FCE 3,5 was the solution. Then up came FCE 4 and reactions are split.<br>

Here's an experiment as an example, please note the audio is from the cameras mic: http://web.mac.com/stahlchristian/Videos/Luckau.html</p>

<p>So, suggestions?</p>

<p>Christian, a few comments not directly addressing your question:</p>

<p>I have also experienced quality issue when integrating still pictures (on a PC + Sony Vegas) which was traced to resampling during video output rendering; it seems best results are obtained when images are externally processed and resized (to the video's maximum export resolution, 720x480 for example) prior to importing into your editing program.</p>

<p>I noticed your sample video contains a picture with portrait orientation. It is best to re-frame still pictures to occupy full video screen even if at the expense of compositional aesthetics so you don't throw away 50% of usable resolution and avoids black side-bands. Transitions will also looks more seamless.</p>

<p>You may already know this: One way to overcome a single camera point of view is to shoot multiple video tracks akin to audio overdubs using the audio track as your repeat performance reference - lipsync equivalent, if you will. You can then cross-transition between video tracks to create more interest.</p>

<p>Michael, thanks for the input. <br>