Easiest editing programs for beginners

<p>I am an absolute beginner with editing software. I have never edited an image with any program. I've always tried to get it right in the camera. Fine art photos that I've framed and hung at home have not been altered.<br>

What is the easiest editing software or program for me? I plan to make only simple enhancements...nothing fancy. <br>

I mainly shoot fine art stuff. I've got a Canon 40D with two lenses: Canon 10-20mm and Tamron 90mm Macro.<br>

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!</p>

<p>In my opinion, easiest isn't necessarily the best for you, as it may not accomplish what you want. First - did you get any free software with your camera...if so try that, usually the bundled packages are pretty elementary and easy to use...that gives you time to determine exactly what features you might value (or not). GIMP is free to download, but not really intuitive. Photoshop elements works fine for lots of people...and there's lots of others, but those come to my mind first.</p>

<p>Picasa, Photofiltre are great free options. I personally like Paint.NET as well, but it might have a bit more of a learning curve to it.</p>

<p>If you're OK to spend a bit of money, Photoshop Elements is a very well-rounded toolbox, and has more online tutorials, books and courses for it. Well worth the money.</p>