Dvd tutorial??

nvp

I am a beginner to serious photography and I need some help, please. I'm so

confused with the manual program settings on my XTi camera. I'm reading Bryan

Peterson's books and trying to apply the lessons, but the info just isn't

computing. I've checked in the area for a photography class but none are

available at this time. Are there any dvd's available for learning at my own

pace? I think seeing, hearing, and applying the techniques would work best for

me. I've tried experimenting on my own but I'm going nowhere fast. Help!!

Nancy

Not sure where you are based but if you have access to car boot sales / garage sales and the like, Even charity / second hand stores look out for beginners photography books by John Hedgecoe, (try Ebay too), these can be had very cheaply as they are film based yet are still very very relevant as other than the recording medium all the manual controls remain the same in an operational sense.

Nancy, I was in the same boat, so here's how I am overcoming it: I sit down with my XTi, the manual and Bryan Peterson's book. I read the entire book once, and was very confused, so I sat down with the manual and the book and mentally combined the info from both and put into practical application right there and then. Voila.

If you are in Canada, Henrys.com offers great classes cheap.

Chris

Nancy. if you are learning photography for the first time, it can be a bit daunting. you first need to learn about the concept of exposure.

google "photography exposure" and learn about shutter speed, ISO and f-stop. you don't have to undersatnd it up and down, but you need to undersatnd that to make pictures, you need to adjust your shutter speed and aperture so that the correct amount of light hits the sensor.

taking a picture is like filling a swimming pool with water. you want to fill it up to the brim, but you don't want to overfill it. you can use a fire hose or a garden hose or even a straw.