Dust on prints

tom_brent

I recently had my pictures printed in a professional lab, but when I

got them back some of the photos had white spots on them. I took them

back to the lab and they claimed it was just "dust" from the machine.

Shouldn't a pro lab take care of these things right away??? Is this

normal????

It should not be normal, but sadly the only way in which many so called 'pro' labs are professional is in the way they take money off you. Not so long ago I almost had an argument with the receptionist of a pro-lab who refused to believe that Kodak T400CN B&W film is C41 process. She stated that she would have to consult one of the 'experts' before accepting this fact. The fact that the film says C41 on the backing paper was apparently not enough for her.

After getting sick of paying through the nose to get scratched, dusty negatives and crap prints, I now do my own C41 processing. I prefer not to process E6 though. I freely admit that I am an amateur and don't use huge volumes of film (and most of it is B&W or 35mm Kodachrome). If you do this may not be practical for you.

There are labs that do good custom work, and they can command commensurate prices. Good printing is a skilled business. Either find a lab you can work with or set up a darkroom and do your own D&P. If you are mainly interested in colour work a good flatbed scanner (Epson 2450?) and inkjet printer is probably the way to go. If your main interest is B&W then a wet darkroom still holds appeal. I think you learn an awful lot about composition, exposure, and the possibilities of the photographic process by at least having some exposure to the D&P side of things.