Duocron?

bart feliciano

I think it would have to be fairly large--bigger than the Tri-Elmar, actually. Retrofocus wide-angles that allow the M6/7/P metering to work are not small. Gone are the likes of compact little lenses like the pre-ASPH 35mm Summilux. The Tri-Elmar is not small to begin with, and a lens that is two stops faster and covers nearly the same focal length range must be even larger.

It seems to me that it is probably the 28mm specification of the Tri-Elmar, and not the 50mm part, that requires it to be so long. Retrofocus design seems to have a paradoxical effect on the physical size of a lens: the shorter the focal length, the longer the lens. I have often thought (and written here before) that a 35/50 Bi-Elmarit would be shorter than the Tri-Elmar, even though fatter because of the extra stop of speed.

I'm not a lens engineer (we do have those here). This is just an observation made by a enthusiast. But I will guess that a 28/40 f/2 that can cover the full format it going to be a large beast.

Sorry if this seems to hijack the thread and please delete if inappropriate.

I understand that Leica has ruled out digital-specific lenses for either the

existing DMR or for the Digital M.

The future of digital surely must be in full frame sensors, at least for

professional or high end cameras. Canon are forcing the issue and I believe

that Nikon will be forced to follow. Who wants a crop factor? No one if you

read the digital forums and the magazines. And not me, as if that matters.

Unfortunately, Leica has been caught short like most other maunfacturers,

and is temporarily stuck with a sub full-frame sensor. I believe that Leica

must develop a full frame digital M, but it must be understood that the form of

the camera could change. It surely must be larger. The ergonomics can be

addressed but a slightly larger M body seems to be inevitable in this case.

Nothing lasts forever. If a slight size increase is unacceptable to some, then