dual monitors - how to?

In my archive search I see that you don't always have to switch out

the video card for dual monitors. I am running windows XP with a

NVIDIA GeForce4mx 420 card. Will that support dual monitors? If so,

how do I do it? If not, what do I need to set it up? (Besides the

second monitor of course :) Also, (sorry, I am a newbie to

computers really) I do plan on upgrading my system in about a year.

I have a CRT monitor now. If I buy an LCD now (wich I plan on doing)

should it be the same size as the main monitor I hope to upgrade too

(or have now). Is there any advantage to the monitors being the same

size (like having the image spill over)??

Get a Mac :) Running multiple displays on PeeCees isn't very fun. Random things happen, for sure.

If you don't like that option: You will have to give us more information about your card.

Basically, if it has more than one port on it, most likely it will do dual monitors. Turn off your computer, plug the monitor in, and go into Displays on the control panel. Set the display as "active" and check your settings. You have a pretty low end video card, so you may not be able to support high resolutions.

I would HIGHLY recommend getting a current video card, with DVI outputs, and a nice DVI display.

If you don't have dual ports on your video card, you will either need to replace your card with one that is "dual-head" or add another card to your system.

Again, we need more info. Is your grahpics card built into the motherboard or is it an actual card? Is it AGP? 2x 4x 8x? is it old PCI?

Regards,

Aaron

The card MUST have two monitor output. if you use a Y cable the card and the OS will not know which one is which therefore, you'd have the SAME data on both monitors.