DSLR vs mirrorless

Discussion in 'Nikon' started by kylebybee, Mar 30, 2015.

1. Just want to hear opinions on this topic. You see/hear a lot of photographers saying that mirrorless cameras are the future and our DSLR's are going to fade out and not be able to compete. I'd like to think that they're wrong.

2. I think neither is the future of general photography, cell phones are.
    The problem is that the Interchangeble Lens Camera market has been on a steady decline for a while, and companies aren't making money hand-over-fist on them anymore.
    For me, DSLRs didn't work anymore (I'm an amateur, like virtually all of the people who are driving the market). So I switched to a nice small µ43 system that I like better.
    Horses for courses...
    If I was a sports shooter or action shooter or what have you, no way would I have made that move.

3. as far as i know the mirrorless cameras work on contrast based autofocus not phase detection, so i am not interested.

digital viewfinder.
    yuk

4. Yup, there are definitely trade-offs (although I would argue that there are tradeoffs both ways).
    Both have a place for now.