Dry Mounting Inkjet Paper

<p>Most of the threads on this topic are several years old and I am in need of some collective wisdom. I'm getting ready to mount and fram a number of prints from my Epson 2880. I have used the Epson Ultra Premium Luster and Matte papers as well as the newer Ilford Gold Fiber Silk. I have a lot of experience mounting B&W gelatin prints using Fusion 4000. However, this mounts at a higher temperature than I've seen recommended. I also recognize that inkjet prints come out flat from the printing process and don't present the same problem as gelatin prints. I am going to do some tests to see what happens to the paper after dry mounting but there are so many newer products on the market.<br>

I would like to hear the experience from others regarding whether they have seen deterioration after mounting and what drymount tissue was used. I don't want to have to buy multiple different products just for testing purposes. I'm also unconvinced about using sprays for cold mounting given the chemical composition of the spray and adhesive.<br>

Thanks in advance.</p>

<p>I mounted a luster inkjet print and it's been fine for a year. There are two things that I've discovered. The temperature can be quite low; a temperature of something like 150-175 degrees is fine to mount. At that temperature, the mounting takes less than 20 seconds. Leaving it in for longer makes it bubble and get that dry mount texture.</p>

<p>We use the 3M PMA 568 and over the last several years (5+) seen no issues with both Epson and Ilford papers. Some of our traditional tissue mounted B&W inkjet prints on the other hand have faded a bit. The 3M material is described by 3M as photo safe and in our hands works great.<br>

Bill</p>