Does the Digital SLR "wear-out"?

kristinpia

I recently bought a new Canon 40D, and before I go off rapid shooting I have a

concern... Does the camera ever wear-out from taking pictures over time? For

example, do digital cameras have a certain amount of photos that they can take

and then the quality diminishes? Is this true for memory cards as well?

Also, does the rapid shooting hurt the camera? Especially when the red light is on

processing one picture, and I take another one right after?

Please help me as I am new at this and I love my 40D and want to keep it in good

condition!

~K

The mechanical systems (shutter, etc.) are subject to wear over time and can

eventually wear out.

The quality of the images should not diminish over time - e.g. the sensor isn't going

to wear out.

There is no problem with taking a photo while the previous one is being written to the

card.

Dan

As with any mechanical devise it can and will wear out. The mirror and shutter in this case are the most likely followed by the buttons and switches. This is not unique to digtal, any camera film or not is subject to wear. The quality of the photo should not suffer just due to wear but sensors and the electronics that support it can also fail causeing all types of image problems. But it will be clear when that is happening.

No about your fear of wearing out your camera....the 40D is rated at 100,000 shutter cycles. That is a heck of a lot of photos and unless you are a pro taking 100s or 1000s of photos everyday, you will get tired of the camera and ready for a new before it "wears out".

BTW, shutter cycles is how folks rate a camera. Many high end models have shutter counters to show the total cycles over the life of the camera. It like Miles on a car or Hours on a Heavy and Farm Machinery.

Jason

The batteries will wear out after a while, and you will need to get new ones. But that probably wont happen for about 2 or 3 years.