Does Manual mode on Nikon D90 indicate the correct exposure in the viewfinder?

sun_p

<p>Hello experts!</p>

<p> I hope this question does not come across a silly, considering the fact that I have been using my camera for a few months now. But I have a nikon D90 which I picked up recently and just picked up the "Understanding Exposure" book of Bryan PEterson.</p>

<p> I was just going through is book and he encourages everyone to shoot in Manual to get correct exposures. Now, generally for Flash photography I always shoot Manual, but for landscapes, natural light, outdoors, I generally shoot P/A/T modes. More because of lack of confidence, whether what I select is right or could a P mode give me a much better exposure etc etc...</p>

<p>" But while reading his book, he says that set your camera to M. Select an aperture of lets say 5.6 and then rotate the shutter until the viewfinder indicates a correct exposure"<br>

My question is on the Nikon D90,</p>

<p> In manual mode, does the camera give you a indication of what is the correct exposure like it does in P? If yes, what icon or indication is visible. I just tried it out on my camera, and a green dot is visible on the left bottom, but thats just a indication when the metering is done and focus is set and we can take the photograph.</p>

<p> Am I wrong in my understanding? I though manual mode of completely manual so the camera will not indicate anything, we have to do everything ourselves. But if the camera does indicate a correct shutter/aperture while rotating the dial then that would defincately be helpful, because then accordingly we can play around with the settings to get a little more creative!</p>

<p>Thanks,<br>

Sunil</p>

<p>It's in the user's guide but a quick description is that you have a bar that goes + and - on the right side of the viewfinder. It indicates what the exposure meter in the camera thinks is the correct exposure. + is overexposed, - under exposed and 0 is what it thinks is best.</p>