Do I need neutral density filter for Sigma 50mm 1.4, to maintain DOF for portraits during daylight?

<p>Hello, first of all I will apologize if this question has already been answered. I've searched the forums for several hours now, and found very relevant information, but nothing totally answering my question. I'm pretty sure I will need a Neutral Density filter, but my question is which one? I was told I would need an ND to maintain my f1.4 in daylight. I've read about "different stops" for different filters as well. I just want to purchase the right one. If this question has specifically been answered already, please just point me to that post with a link:). I am also wanting to do some fill flash for "catch lights," but I am unsure of just how to maintain the f1.4 with flash/filter/shutter speed. Any setting suggestions? I'm just a novice photographer, and quickly learning, so I'm not familiar with filters just yet. Also, any other advice about filters (polarizing, UV, etc.) is greatly appreciated.<br>

My purpose: outdoor portraits (where I can't always have optimal conditions), low light photography, basketball<br>

My equipment: Canon 60D, Sigma 50mm 1.4, Canon Speedlight 430X</p>

<p>People use 1.4 lens in all sorts of situations (even in bright daylight) and even more so in low-light situations! ( ...and definitely without a ND filter).<br>

Was that a salesperson that told you you needed a ND filter to use your 1.4 lens normally? Hah! If not, what other reason makes you think you need a ND filter? You definitely do not use a ND filter normally for the scenarios that you have presented.</p>

<p> </p>