Do I need an external flash?

allan_martin

<p>Hello!</p>

<p>I've started to wonder whether or not my D7000 needs an external flash. Im an amateur photographer who has always heard the "dont use flash, practice without it" thing.</p>

<p>Now that I got some money left Im thinking, hey maybe I should get one. I dont do a lot of portraits, since im not a pro, so it would be mostly family stuff. However, I plan on shooting macro yes, and I heard flash is very nice in macro photography. I also love landscapes, but im not sure if flash is needed there.</p>

<p>Since a nice flash costs ~ $350 (SB700), I gotta ask. If it was something cheaper I probably wouldnt. </p>

<p>Thx!</p>

<blockquote>

<p>Im an amateur photographer who has always heard the "dont use flash, practice without it" thing.</p>

</blockquote>

<p>You can practice without it, but when it comes to shooting, you'll do better to have a flash available. Family photography is people photography, and if your family is like mine, it is populated by people with eye sockets and noses and ears that create shadows, as well as skin that doesn't look its best in unfilled harsh light. Flash can make a huge difference with that. A flash that can be separated from your camera, or can be bounced (unlike the on-board flash that comes on your D7000) off a large surface will generally allow you to make photos that look better than those with a flash that can't. The D7000 is beautifully designed to control an off-camera flash.<br /> Landscapes are typically shot without flash.<br /> If you are going to concentrate on macro photography, you might consider flash specifically designed for it.</p>