photograph their wedding. It is an informal/family only wedding, so

not too much pressure. However, I want them to have some good images

to remember their day. I own a new 20D, Canon 50mm f1.8, kit lens,

and 75-300 4-5.6 (non IS). The wedding will be in a clubhouse at

5:00 PM. Will I be able to get decent pictures using on camera

flash? Or do I need to purchase a speedlite? I will eventually be

getting one anyway, when the budget can better allow for it. ANY

input would be greatly appreciated! Kristen

You need a larger/more powerful flash than the pop-up flash. If you are on a tight budget get the 420EX, I had one with my 10D and it had more than enough power for what you want to do although it was limited control wise. If you can stretch your cash the 550EX would be better all around, but if you do not shoot a lot of flash photos it might not be worth the extra cash to you.

I agree with what Eoghan and James said. I have been photographing for 21 years (not weddings) but know enough that you can't just turn up on the day with a pro-camera and expect to get pro results. It is the photographer's experience and ability to control the camera to get the results they want that makes great images, not the camera itself. Your friend may not understand this and then be dissapointed that the images from your new 20D don't match their expectations, most probably based on others' professional wedding photos.

At a minimum practice furiously in advance under similar lighting conditions. Digital is a good experimental and learning tool. The wedding day itself is not the day to be trying to find out how to manipulate the 20D's features.