DJ wants to use one of my images for advertising. Fee?

robgomez

<p>Hey guys,<br>

a DJ at one of the weddings I shot contacted me and wants to know if he can use one of my images from the wedding for advertising his company. <br>

Should I charge him some kind of fee? Or just give them to him for free? <br>

I just don't wanna be screwed. I'm still new to all of this.</p>

<p>Thanks guys, merry Christmas!<br>

Rob</p>

<p>Obviously you are not chummy chummy with this guy and thats ok. There is nothing wrong with charging a fee (what ever that may be) for your professional images to be used for the gain of someone else Artist or not. Do you do free work for all your friends and family? if so then why not him too. In fact give all your work away for free to every person you work with. If this was a party coordinator which is someone who would get you work then I would say give it to them…. but a DJ? Give me a break!! You want to barter something then thats different, otherwise don't expect him to Dj for you for free.</p>

<blockquote>

<p>"a DJ at one of the weddings I shot contacted me and wants to know if he can use one of my images from the wedding for advertising his company"</p>

</blockquote>

<p><br /><br />Sure, but, if it has anyone's likeness other than the DJ is prominently shown in it, he risks liability for commercial use misappropriation if he does so without a proper corresponding model release. (I know that's not the context of the actual question but it is something for someone in his position to consider).</p>

<p>Michael Mowery made a point! Charge him: $10, $50, $100, $200? Whatever money you can get. Again if you are charging the DJ for the photo, shouldn't the client get the percentage after all it is their photos. <br>

John H ,thanks for the reminder of the model release since your client will need to know where it is going. Best of luck and I'm sure you will find your answer within.</p>

<blockquote>