DIY studio lighting with everyday materials?

andy_evans

<p>Hello,<br>

I'm a high school photo teacher, looking to set up the most basic studio for my students to photograph each other. Just a backdrop, a primary light, and a reflector. Or two lights if they're cheap.<br>

1. Is there a way I can do this with ordinary off-the-shelf lighting -- just find a strong, even light, and improvise a diffusion material? We'll be shooting B&W, so no worries about the light temperature. And I'm thinking lighting for portraits, shoulders-up, or still lives, so I don't believe I need a huge amount of wattage.<br>

2. Alternately, what's the most basic light on the market? I tried navigating the B&W options but just couldn't make any sense of the results I was getting.<br>

For a backdrop, giant pieces of white or black paper will do, right?</p>

<p>Thanks in advance,</p>

<p>Andy</p>

<p>hey Andy,</p>

<p>there is plenty of ways to get the "basic studio" with diy materials... when i started a few years ago i found this website:</p>

<p>http://www.diyphotography.net/</p>

<p>it's great for that kind of stuff. amazing ideas for pretty much everything you can think about. i think they have full section about diy studio...<br>

regarding basic studio lighitng, everything depends on how much you can spend on it - i started with Portaflash (i don't think it's exists any more), but you can get Interfit for almost the same money. Going up with your money you could get Elinchrom or AB...<br>

regards, <br>

greg</p>

<p>I've improvised "studio" lights with grow-lights in those clip light holders you get from the hardware store for a few bucks. They can be attached to a tripod. Made a "reflector" out of white foam core. Made diffusers out of white plastic trash bags and bamboo sticks. I think the grow lights are about 5500K to mimic sunlight: hope they don't give your kids other creative ideas. </p>