dirt inside my lens? what to do?

jerome2

Hello everyone,

I'm new to the whole photography world, I got myself a D70s few months ago and

realized today while shooting some pictures that I can see some "dots" on certain area of

my images (full resolution). If I move and recompose, the dots are still on the same areas,

which tend to point to the lens. After cleaning my lens (a 18-70 kit lens), I realized that

there seems to be few dirt *inside* the lens itself!! As I mentioned, I only got that

equipment few months ago and took extremely good care of it, but obviously not enough :

(

Here is a link of a picture showing the spots ... you can find at least 5 on the sky :

http://www.nokoston.com/test/dirty.jpg

What am I suppose to do now? I'm so frustrated to have spent all that money if now all my

pictures are going to show unwanted spots on them ... I bought all my gear at B&H.com

and I'm bummed and not sure what to do now ... does anyone have any advices?

Thanks,

-Jerome.

It's not dirt inside the lens.

Dirt in between the lens elements only causes a general loss of resolving power and

'dimming', but only in quite significant quantities. It can't be 'resolved' in the image.

What you're seeing is dust on the camera sensor itself. You can get this off, but you need

to exercise a fair bit of caution.

Read up on it extensively before you do it. Don't try to use any blower device that uses a

propellant, and bear in mind, Nikon don't want you to use anything but a blower bulb.

They will tell you that anything else invalidates the warranty.

If you're squeamish, take it into a camera shop or return it to Nikon for them to do it.

Other people here will have advice about recommended methods. I haven't tried any of

them as yet.