brandonhamilton

Hey everybody, long time no post for me! I have a question for you all, which

of course has been discussed a million times all over the place, but I thought

I would start my own discussion.

I am a serious ameture photographer. I shoot my own creative work,

portraiture, and shoot roughly 5-6 weddings a year for side money. Two weeks

ago I attended a friends wedding as a guest, and of course brought my camera,

flash, and a couple of lenses to shoot from the side just for fun. When I got

home and processed the images, I ran into a dilema.

Anyway, my question is about your normal DR limitations with digital. If I set

my D2X to any auto mode (s, a, or p) the camera does a great job, but when

shooting a picture that has a bride's white wedding dress in it, the camera

will always underexpose to do its best to save highlights, which I understand,

because nobody likes blown highlights. But, what happens as a result, is that

the rest of the shot is underexposed (of cousre). Natually I can play with

RAW exposure and brightness/shadows in ACR later and do a pretty good job

getting it back to normal, but here is where I face the dilema. I will

typically have to push the image a good 1.5 stops to get faces looking

correct. The problem is that when I do this push, the image quality of the

pushed areas suffer a bit. They don't look as good as had I exposed/metered

for those areas specifically. The pushed areas look a little more noisy, image

quality is a tad lower in those areas.

Now, if i expose for the face/surrounding area properly (ignoring the dress),

there are areas of the white dress that completely blow off the right end of

the histogram.

So my question to you all, is which is better?

A) save the highlights, and live with the slighly lower quality pushed areas,

with a tad more noise... or

B) expose faces and the like properly to maximize image quality, but let the

whites blow out a little bit.