digital wedding photography

francisco_javier_urena

Is anyone out there shooting weddings with consumer digital cameras?

I am not a professinal, but a competent enthusiast who normally

shoots 35mm B&W. My cousin will be getting married next year, and to

save money, they have asked me to be the photographer. Fine, until I

told them it would still cost several hundred dollars for film and

processing. (Both my cousin and I are rather poor.)My idea is to rent

something like the Nikon Coolpix 5700 for the day. However, what

about memory and storage. Would I really need to shoot everything in

RAW format for good pictures? Any advice would be appreciated.

No. Consumer digital stuff is too slow for anything but posed portraits, and profession digital stuff is too expensive.

I don't know how cheap you can rent the digital stuff for, but here in SF Bay Area Canon EOS-1D outfit costs $150/day (includes 28-70L, 550EX & 1GB storage). Compact flash is $25/512MB/day.

Don't forget a couple of ink jet cartridges ($45) and paper, and hours of frustration balancing the color if you are not an expert at this.

On the other hand, film plus professional processing at local minilab cost me about $20 per 36 frames.

Shoot film. You'll be disapointed with amateur digital. Right now Target has 200 speed Kodacolor negative four-packs of 24 exp. film for $5.99 and you should be able to get it processed 4x6 for about $7.95 a roll. This is "amateur" film and processing but it'll beat the hell out of digital.

<p><i>... (And they're not financially ready to get married!)</i></p>

<p>Like that ever stopped anyone before ... and it's really not our business. Love and commitment don't need a price tag -- or our approval.</p>

<p>Anyway, the other posters are correct. Consumer digital suffers from shutter lag, generally bad red eye and noise in low-light situations.</p>

<p>The other issue is that some shops might not rent consumer-level cameras.</p>