digital slr with shift adaptor for architectural photography

Hello,

I'm an architectural photographer currently using large format - but

all my clients are now asking to shoot on digital! I can't afford the

new Canon 1ds mark II or any high-end digital backs for large format,

so am trying to think of another way to deliver decent-sized files at

reasonable expense.

One idea is to buy the new Nikon D2X, with its 12.4mp resolution.

However, it has an APS-sized sensor, which means that using any of

Nikon's proprietary shift lenses is useless for wide angle work, due

to the focal length magnification of approx 1.5 to 1.6.

However, I need to be able to have some control over converging

verticals! I've come across a "panoramic shift adaptor" made my a

company called Zork, and was wondering whether anybody had tried one -

in particular using it with wide angle Nikon optics (say 15mm). The

Zork adaptor is nominally for connecting a 35mm slr with a medium

format lens, but I was wondering if anyone had tried it with 35mm slr

lenses. My guess is that you would have some movement because the

lenses cover full frame 35mm and the sensor is smaller.

I hope I've made my question understandable! Let me know if you need

any clarification.

Thanks!

You would be basically adding a spacer between the body and the lens, so it wouldn't work

for a nikon lens on a nikon body except for closeups, no infinity focus.

A possibility would be to do your perspective control with software, Photoshop has tools

for this, you would have to shoot with a wider lens than normal to allow yourself extra

room in the image.

Gareth,

Since you're moving from film to digital, you have more options, inlcuding:

1) Full-frame Kodak (available in Canon or Nikon mounts) 14mp DSLR with Canon tilt/

shift lenses (24-90mm) or Nikon shift lenses (28 or 35mm I think). Either of these

would be less money then the D2X, though not nearly as versatile when off the tripod.