I'm a relative beginner with photography which will soon be evident

from my question.

I own a Sony DSC F828 which I understand is a good camera to learn

with. My question is related to image size. If I am to print photos

in smaller sizes f.e. 8*10" or less then is it sufficient if I take

the photo in 5MP or will I get still better resolution in the printed

image with 8MP?

Thanks in advance.

In general, you want 300ppi at the final print size. With the F828, the 8MP size gives you a little more than 300ppi in an 8x10, and 5MP gives you a little less. On this basis, 8MP would be the better choice. You can always resample for larger prints.

You may save memory space by taking smaller images, but those pixels are lost forever if you want larger prints in the future.

The F828 sensor is relatively noisy above ISO 100 (even compared to the 5MP F717). This is due partly to the small cell size resulting from cramming 8MP into a 4/3 sensor. Reducing the capture size will have no effect on this noise.

You can find a full review at http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/sonydscf828/

Optimum image quality starts at 240PPI for a digicam, so yes you have sufficient resolution for an 8"x10" print from a 5mp image.

However, with an 8mp digicam, I would shoot everything I intend to print at full rez thus allowing plenty for crops and resizing.

Edward and Mr. Smith, thank you very much for your quick and informative responses.

I have no professional knowledge about photography. All I know is from using the camera. Of course, I still have many very basic hurdles to clear. I look forward to getting more help from knowledgeable people like yourselves in future.

Esther, thanks for the warning :)

Best regards.