did d200 hit harder than expected?

marcofrancardi

I'm not a marketing expert, but it seems to me that Canon's 5D

prices are taking a deeper plunge than expected. D200 was supposed

to be a 20D challenger, but I see many people are opting for it

against a 5D, with a good lens bonus as a promoter. I don't mean to

discuss technical differences, I'm aware of them, but the phenomenon

by which these differences seem more and more... how to say...

marketwise irrelevant? what's you opinion?

There are 3 groups of people in the market.

1) people who know full well what they're buying and aren't blinded by marketing talk.

2) people who don't know what they're buying and just buy what their salesperson tells them is the best.

3) people who THINK they know what they're buying but in fact just buy what the marketing says is the best/latest/greatest.

People in group pretty much each group are further subdivided by those buying whatever never mind the money, people buying that which is the best for their budget, and for group one people determining which offering is the best value for money.

People in group 1 at this stage probably will go for the D200 unless they're lifelong Canonaddicts (in which case they're likely not really in group 1).

People in group 2 are probably about evenly divided, with a slight bias towards Canon as Canon tends to give higher margins to dealers from what I hear.

People in group 3 will buy Canon because Canon has the more flashy marketing campaigns.

Canon lowering the price of the 5D would be an effort to draw more people into their camp who choose the D200 over the 20d, not an answer to dropping 5D sales.

Apparantly Nikon is still perceived as the "professionals" choice, thus desireable. This in

spite of the fact that a large percentage of Nikon professionals have switched to Canon over

the past 10 years or so. Actually a lot of Hasselblad, Mamiya, and Bronica owners have