developing color film

<p>I recently acquired a developing set. I have no experience or knowledge besides helping my mom as a kid when she played around with it. She only ever developed black and white film and I am trying to do color. the set came with some color chemicals so that is why I decided to start with color.<br>

But....it has developer and fixer only. From what I have read online I need blix and stabilizer? Or are these the same as fixer?<br>

Anyone one who can help me would be a saint. I have poured over the internet and can't find the answers I am looking for.<br>

Thanks in advance.</p>

<p>For negatives you need Color Developer, Bleach (not household), Fixer (sometimes combined with the bleach and called Blix), and Stabilizer. An easy to use chemical kit is<br>

<a href="http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/109267-REG/Tetenal_T109306_C_41_Press_Kit_for.html">http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/109267-REG/Tetenal_T109306_C_41_Press_Kit_for.html</a><br>

Color processing be it negative or positive film is more difficult than B&W. In color processing you have to keep all chemicals at higher temperature than B&W thorought the complete processing session with less than 1 degree variance between chemicals and at least the developing step requires constant agitation.</p>

<p>It sounds like I need to complete my set before I can really get started. Plus alot more learning to do......some of the terms used here are way out of my league.<br>

I will check out that link.<br>

I didn't know there was a difference in processing, negative and positive. It definitely sounds like I need Bleach and stabilizer</p>

<p>you didn't say why you want to process your film but if the reason to save money than don't. It costs more to do it yourself. If you want to do it for other reasons, start by looking at websites for chemical kits and find one that isn't too demanding for your film.</p>