Desert Trip Part II

Gup

<p>I have decided to drive across the northern US from Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, to Portland, Oregon leaving in a few days. I will be in a well equipped camper van.<br>

I would like to hear your thoughts on driving south from there to San Francisco. The best route, driving times, points of interest, etc. I'm a landscape photographer by nature so would enjoy the most scenic routes, ocean vistas, etc. <br>

From there I need to be in Las Vegas on October 11. Is driving south on #101 in Oregon too ambitious? I haven't calculated any driving times. What is the best route to Las Vegas from San Francisco area?<br>

Any input on camping locations will be appreciated, too.<br>

Thanks.</p>

<p> </p>

<p>Go West young man :>)....well, West of Portland and rip the Oregon Coast - you'll never regret it. Mass of distractions and cooler drive than via I-5. The heat is suppose to dissipate (ha ha), but I still see Redding, Calif to be in mid 90F deg....well, considering that this area gets over 100F normally.<br>

I've camped at Nehalem Bay St PK and Harris Beach St PK in Brookings....and can vouch for both of these places to be real nice. When things get bit cooler, Harris Beach may close, so it's a good idea to call ahead....to avoid camping at Wallymart :>). You might consider (close to sunset) to visit Thor's Well (So. of Yachats)...and you probably be there with some other photographers. Also, the coast has dunes (if you are into that) and stacks popping out of the ocean at Cannon Beach and Bandon. There are several places to stop and camp in Calif....close to the ocean. Mendocino would be one, but there are many places you could anchor. Samuel Taylor St PK is not far from SF....I've camped there like 25+yrs ago (good experience). Then you have Pt Reyes to explore. I could easily take 2 weeks just to do those two states on the coast (many many distractions).</p>