Depressed wedding photographer...

june_daley

<p>Hi all,<br>

I am a wedding/social event photographer, 6 months ago, my own fiance left me. It has been world shattering, and along with other events, has led me into a dark depression. I am on medication and seeing a therapist, however, even shooting small events has proven to be more than I can handle. I don't feel I can do my clients justice - all interest in photography has gone and I'm struggling to run my nisi ess. My therapist has suggested a break from photography. How can I possibly cancel on my brides? II'm aware my business will suffer greatly from this course of action should I choose it. My greatest concern is how to handle cancelling my brides? I feel terrible to even think of cancelling their bookings. But I know I would be doing more of a disservice to them by attempting to photograph such a big day for them in my state.</p>

<p>How to handle this? Should I tell them the truth?</p>

<p>Advice much appreciated.<br>

June</p>

<p>I'm sorry to hear about your personal difficulties. Getting yourself back to functional has to be a priority.</p>

<p>Ideally, if you could line up one or two other photographers in your area, whose skills at shooting weddings you could endorse, whose styles are generally similar to yours, and who would be willing to do the same basic work for the same price, and present each bride or couple with the referral to / option of the other photographer(s) when you cancel, that would certainly mitigate the harm and hard feelings. IMO, any steps in this direction are better than none; even if you can't do it all, try to do some.</p>