useful to store lenses in the bag with the shutter opened and ready

for viewing upon mounting. My shutters are Copals or Synchro Compurs

of various vintages. Do you think that putting a lens away with the

shutter opened would result in the same kind of wear problems that

storing a shutter cocked would bring on? Opening a shutter for viewing

doesn't feel as though it is tensioning springs, but since I've never

looked inside I don't know.

Tony,

I have two schneider lenses. I have been using them for over twenty years and have usually stored them with the shutters open. I have never had a single problem with the shutters or any other part of the lenses. I do not think it is advisable to leave the shutters cocked, though, as it may weaken the springs over time (I assume).