D90, Black Bottom Half of the Frame (Any help appreciated....)

richard_gaynor

<p>I am brand new to digital photography and am trying to get back into this field after many years....I recently purchased a new nikon d90. I tried using an old nikon 105mm 773379 lens and selected the manual mode..............when I took a picture only part of the top was visible, the rest all black..........any suggestions................. also is it better to shoot in the jpg mode with this camera? Any help appreciated...rich</p>

<p>I'm guessing Shun has the answer to your defective image if you were using flash. Sounds like a flash synchronization problem.</p>

<p>As far as jpeg vs NEF. Wow, this could turn into a long thread. For those like me who are lazy and want to do most of their image manipulation in camera, jpeg. is the answer. If you love post processing and spending hours pealing away the layers of Photoshop or some other truly amazing program, RAW/NEF, is the way to go. Basically, I love the simplicity of jpeg and iPhoto. I get a certain satisfaction in getting the images the way I want them right out of the camera. Kind of like when I shot transparency film in the old days.</p>

<p>That is oversimplifying the matter, of course. I'll let others type the words. BTW, there are threads galore on photo.net regarding the pros and cons of the different file types.</p>

<p>Don't be shy, Rich.</p>

<p>You haven't given us much to go on but, your shutter speed must not exceed 1/200 sec. when using flash. Were you using flash to expose that defective image?</p>

<p>The Nikon 105mm f2.5 AI lens is a great performer and should work fine in manual mode with your D90, (no meter interaction with Nikon AI lenes, though). You'll need to use a hand held meter or, "chimp".</p>

<p>You used too high a flash sync speed or the shutter is defective. If you did not use flash, the shutter is defective or the file did not get fully written to the card. Give the process time to complete.</p>