D80 vs D90

gej_jones

I'm about to purchase a D80 body. The price for the body has dropped to around $570.00 which I think is a good

deal. Does in make more sense the upgrade to the D90 for an additional $430?

The difference in price isn't going to break the bank but money is always important.

I presently shoot with a D40x with an 18-200, 50mm 1.8, 105mm micro and a kit lens.

I am an amateur. I enjoy retirement and being able to shoot almost as often as I would like. I use the 105 to shoot

flowers but the 18-200 is on the camera most of the time.

Thank you for any input!

Gej

Perhaps you could elaborate on some of the reasons why you want to upgrade?

Image quality wise, the D80 will not give you any advantages over your D40x but it will autofocus with your 50mm

F1.8. The D90 will give you better higher ISO performance out of the camera over the D40x and D80.

I'd have to say yes, it's worth the extra money. I had a D80 for a year and then upgraded to the D300. The D90 is a stripped down D300, with identical image quality, just slower AF and not as robust a build. I am always so impressed with the image quality out of my D300, it is that much better than the D80.

gej,

as a d80 guy who upgraded to the d300, i dont think it makes sense to go d40x>d80. they have the same sensor, only thing you get is a second command wheel and the ability to AF with the 50 and the 105. if you had more older nikkors that wont AF on d40x it might make more sense. IMO you'd be better off investing that money in a better lens/tripod/lighting.

OTOH, a d40x>d90 upgrade gives you improvements in just about every area, including high ISO and a faster frame rate. that makes a lot more sense to me.

question is, is the d90 $400 better than the d80? yes, since it has the same low-light abilities as the d300, plus the auto-correct CA, dedicated info button, etc.. however, you could take the $900 you were going to spend on a new body and get a 12-24, or a 10-20 plus a 30/1.4.