D80 and D90

frank_philcox1

<p>I looked at a bunch od DSLRs last night. Pentax, Sony, Canon and Nikon. The nicest camera I held was the Nikon D90. It felt like a camera not a toy. I have not handled a D80, although I suspect the build quality is similar to the D90. I am looking for a camera that feels and handles like a real camera (heavy and well built), that is reliable and takes great pictures. I am not interested in gadgetry - just a solid well-built camera that takes great pictures. I don't get excited about megapixels either. I intend to get a simple 50 1.4 lens and call it a day. I don't care about brighter screens, movie making, etc. I just want a good camera. In this regard do I need to look at the D90 or will the D80 do the trick. If I can save a few bucks that would be great. I have seen some used D80s at KEH for a few hundred dollars less than the D90.</p>

<p>The D80 is really a pretty decent camera and handles well. I've been using one for almost four years and don't feel any pressing need for an upgrade although when I do, money permitting, it will be to something like a D300. However, I think if I were considering buying my first DSLR I'd seriously consider the D90 over the D80 mainly due to better low light performance.</p>

<p>I have a D70 and still have no real reason to replace it.<br>

Your only technical point was a 50/1.4, if that is the case you may be interested in looking at a full size sensor.<br>

Remember also the the camera body is the cheapest part of a camera system, it is the lenses that cost the money. So before you commit to a line, make sure that the lens optics in your camera line will do what you want.<br>

I also prefer a heavier body, as it seems more stable to 'me', but my wife like a lighter body.</p>