D76 Looks Very Grainy

<p>I've been using T-max developer for 2 years. I wanted to save shipping, so I got some D76 in pouches. Mixed per the instructions, and developed my first roll in stock D76. Ouch! A very noticeable grain that was never an issue on the T-max. Film is 120 Arista 400ASA. I followed Arista directions for D76. I may have over agitated. I used about 15 seconds of end over end at the pour, and then 5 turnovers every minute. Temp was 68F.</p>

<p>Comments?</p>

<p> </p>

<p>Full-strength D-76 should have solvent effect to soften grain.<br>

Could you simply need shorter developing time? Are the black areas of the negatives denser than they were with TMAX developer? Are the edge markings denser than they were with TMAX developer. Developing harder makes more grain.<br>

As for developing less, I'd rather shorten the time than risk under-agitation. Kodak says inversions, not swishes. I've seen lots of folks showing their negatives with bromide drag from under-agitation.<br>

Also, how long had it been since you mixed the developer? Was it in an air-tight container filled to the brim? If stored in a container with air in it, D-76 will gain a good bit of activity about a week after you mix it. Best way to store freshly mixed D-76 is in 8 or 16 ounce (as appropriate) brown glass bottles filled to the brim, which are each single-use. That avoids the "activity increase" problem.<br>

Another way to lower your shipping costs over TMAX would be HC-110. The dilution is so much higher than TMAX (or other 1+4 dilution liquid developers like DD-X) that you won't pay as much shipping. Also HC-110 is really cheap per roll.</p>

<p>John Shriver,<br>

Thanks for the good info there. First, I mixed the D76 an hour before, so it was brand new. The overall effect on the negatives was very dense blacks and very bleached whites. But I can't disconnect the scene exposure which was probably too dynamic, and I probably was under exposed as well here. </p>