D750, should I send in for shutter recall or not?

amauri_nunes

My situation was the same as yours - no problems, but the camera was on the recall list. Sent it, they replaced the shutter and returned it promptly. If you can afford to be without the camera, in exchange having a new shutter, and starting at zero clicks was certainly appealing to me. Parts won't be around forever!
  • Like 3

Hello everyone.

I bought my D750 back in Nov 2014 and have not experienced any issues at all.

Recently I stumbled onto the service advisory that applies to my serial number.

I've always followed the "don't fix what isn't broken" rule and am reluctant to send it in for a new shutter.

I'm a retired mechanic and use my D750 lightly, about 15k shutter clicks so far.

I know this is a decision that only I can make, but would like to hear opinions/advise from those who own and use the D750 a lot more than I do.

Should I send a perfectly good working camera in to Nikon USA for a new shutter?

Thanks

I bought my D750 in December 2014. I recall that at the time, those D750 "shutter recalls" were for very trivial issues. However, since Nikon got plenty of bad reps for the D600 sensor oil droplet issue in the year prior (to an extend that they needed to quickly introduce a D610 to replace the D600, after merely a year), Nikon was over-reacting and quickly issued multiple recalls.

I wouldn't have sent my D750 back for the recall, but it turned out that my D750 had a bad GPS connection so that I used the recall to ship my D750 back to Nikon for the warranty repair. Since it was a recall, Nikon paid for the return shipping.

I am more in the camp that "if it ain't broke, don't fix it."

I wouldn't hesitate to send it in if mine had a lot of usage, like 100k + clicks.

What worries me most is that I've read several reports where the same D750 had to go back again for the same shutter problem, in some cases three or four times.