D7100 Sharpness/Focus?

april_beatson

<p>Hi everyone,<br>

This is my first time using this site & I don't know too much about professional photography so bear with me. I have recently acquired a Nikon D7100 and took it out for some test shots over the past 2 days. I have set the quality to "JPEG- FINE", and compression to optimal quality. My mode varied from auto/landscape/sunset (I haven't quite gotten into the Manual settings yet so I left everything at default). I was using a Sigma 10-20mm lens with both a Kenko polarizing & protection filter attached. I wasn't using a tripod, but holding the camera as still as possible.<br>

The first thing I noticed was the lack of clarity/sharpness/focus in the images I took. After today's shooting, I easily deleted over half the photos just for this reason. I'm not sure if this is just the way the camera is, there is an internal problem, or it's something that can be easily fixed through manual adjustment. That's why I came here. This is my first DSLR, and I wasn't expecting miracles, but did envision much higher quality images from such an expensive camera. I hoped upgrading cameras would give my pictures a more professional look but to be honest, so far the D7100 is less reliable than my FujiFilm F55EXR digital camera, and the quality doesn't seem to be much higher, if even on par. Also- I have a Nikkor 35mm prime lens which I tested but still getting similar results. <br>

Below are 3 photos I took with the D7100 (These were the clearest pictures I've gotten, Sigma 10-20mm lens, same settings as mentioned above; no editing), then another 3 I took with my FujiFilm F55EXR (with editing) for comparison. I'm hoping what I'm experiencing is due to my own amateur level haha… any advice/opinions/comments/etc would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!</p>

<p>D7100- 1: http://i443.photobucket.com/albums/qq160/apeinvegas/1.jpg</p>

<p>D7100-2: http://i443.photobucket.com/albums/qq160/apeinvegas/2.jpg</p>