D700 wedding shooters

Dave Luttmann

<p>I do. I shoot with both a D700 and D300. Will most likely pick up a D7000 before the start of the wedding season. What do you want to know? I started shooting weddings in the pre-digital age and made the switch a long time ago. I went from a D70 to a D200, and now the D300 and D700.<br>

I like my cameras, they do a good job, but I also think I did a pretty good job shooting with lesser cameras years ago. I'm a 'cameras are tools' photographer, and I don't really worry too much about having the latest and best. Granted both the 300 and 700 are very capable cameras in the right hands, in an amateur's hands they can be just another camera.</p>

<p>You can't go wrong with the D700.<br>

Main advantages are: 1) full frame, 2) incredible ability to handle low-light situations, 3) price point well below "professional" cameras.<br>

Disadvantages: I honestly don't know any.<br>

So far it's the best camera I've ever owned for ease of use and image quality.<br>

I encourage you to switch to digital for a variety of reasons but first and foremost, you will be able to shoot in a much wider range of lighting situations and do so more easily (without sticks/tripod for instance).</p>

<p>I shoot a D300 which has been great but also disappointing because it is not full frame and because it just can't handle noise at higher ISO's . Therefore it is not fast enough in low light situations. So like you I am considering upgrading to the D700 because of the price and because it is supposed to be comparable to the D3 series as far as shooting in low light and because it is also full frame.</p>