D70 Flash does not fire

haris

Upgraded my D70 to firmware B 1.0.3.

Two things as a result:

- None of the images get tagged with Adobe RBG color profile

- Flash does not fire after it pops up on auto modes and/or after I

pop it up in manual-semiauto modes. A press othe flash button

produces clicks even if the flash is already up--feels like the camera

has no idea that the flash is already up.

Anybody experienced similar things.

Suggestions? I am really no looking forward to shipping it back to

Nikon or to the dealer. The camera is only a few weeks in my possession.

Thanks!

I have no experience with D70 as I don't own one yet, so no idea about the firmware upgrade. But I do know in general based on my electronics background that if you have immediately experienced differences or malfunctions from original working conditions after the upgrade, which have never by chance behaved like that in camera and are non-fixable by some simple operations such as 'reset' or 'power off/on', or equivalent. There must be an issue (bug) related to the firmware. So you have to either downgrade it to original or manufacturing version or another error-free proved of the firmware (if you're able to) or send it to authorized Nikon service get it resolved. Good luck.

I talked to Nikon people, performed a hard reset, downgraded and re-upgraded the firmware and I am at the end of the rope. It seemsl like the camera will have to travel back to the dealer for replacement/repairs.

If anyone experiences the same thing, Nikon told me that pressing the flash button on the side of the flash box should not produce a click if the flash is already up. My D-70 does, so the present diagnosis is that the camera sensor that is supposed to register the flash position is malfunctioning.

I'll post the outcome after I get this resolved.

• 2 weeks later...