D5100 - Portrait Lens

michael_scullion

<p>Hi,<br>

I am a novice to photography and recently purchased a D5100 with a Nikon AF-S 18-105mm f3.5-5.6 ED VR Lens. This Lens is sufficient for my needs as an all round lens however I have realised that I mostly take portraits so would like to invest in a portrait lens (on a budget).<br>

Could someone please advise on which of these two would be better for portraits? Both are Autofocus therefore work with my D5100. They seem to be the same and would offer the same portrait quality (i.e. bokeh etc.) - I think the first one is older.<br>

Nikon 50mm f/1.8 D AF Lens<br>

OR<br>

Nikon AF-S 50mm f1.8G<br>

<br />And lastly, since they are budget lens - would either actually provide much benefit for portraits over my current zoom lens (Nikon AF-S 18-105mm f3.5-5.6 ED VR Lens)?<br>

Thanks in advance.</p>

<p>Hi Michael. Get the AF-S. Its bokeh is much nicer, it's appreciably sharper off-centre at wider apertures (I got one when I realised that my AF-D was so soft wide open that I couldn't use it to check the AF sensor accuracy on my D800) and the handling is nicer. More importantly, for you, the AF-S lens will autofocus on a D5100, whereas the AF-D version won't. Sorry to suggest you pay the premium! If it makes you feel better, you get a hood thrown in with the AF-S lens.<br />

<br />