D40x night football games

<p>I just started using my Nikon D40x for nighttime football games. I use a Nikon 30 -70 VR lens. Yikes, the pictues are extremely blurry and have streaks of white in them. Does anyone know exactly what type of lens and the settings I should use? I am an extreme novice. That is why specifice settings and type of lens would be most helpful. Thank you</p>

<p>I'd guess that the streaks of white are images of lights which have blurred as the camera moved during the long exposures the camera used, likewise the blur of both people moving and camera movement.<br>

You need to pick the highest ISO setting you have available to you and then work in Manual or Tv mode and choose a shutter speed that will freeze the player's movement. This could be as high as 1/250 if they are crossing your view but slower 1/125 if they are approaching or going away from you. This may well result in dark pictures that you cannot review on the LCD .. but not to worry because it is possible to lift them in editing with the 'levels' or 'curves' tool. The former is easiest to use IMO. As a beginner I suggest that you use Tv mode rather than Manual and the camera will choose wide open or a correct aperture, it is quite a good 'fail safe' way of working. In Tv mode you have selected the critical factor in freezing the action, the shutter speed. Fast action requires a high shutter speed. The drawback in this situation of low light is that because the lens is wide open [largest aperture = smallest number] you have minimum depth of field so accurate focusing is critical. As you learn more you will find that photography is an endless compromise .... ie. the high ISO results in more noise, large aperture has minimum DoF, long shutter speed blurred movement and so on. <br>

An alternative approach when using a slower speed is to be panning [ following the action with the camera] but with humans this doesn't work so well as we move our legs and arms as we run.<br>