D300s Whats the best settings

nigel_gibbs

<p>Hi I have just brought the Nikkon D300s.<br /> With A AF s Nikkor 70-300mm 1:4-5:6 G VR SWM ED if lens.<br /> And a AF-S DX Nikkor 16-85mm f/3.5-5.6 G ED VR lens.<br /> And a SB 600 flash.<br /> I am new to digital cameras and was wondering what the best settings are for this camera any advice would be welcome.</p>

<p> In the end, there are no best settings per se. You need to find out what settings to use to actualize your vision and workflow. Use anyone's recommendation as a starting point, but experiment, evaluate results, and customize the settings to suit yourself. The point behind all those choices is to make images <em>that are your own. </em>Start from the defaults and see where it takes you.<em><br /></em></p>

<p> </p>

<p>There is no such thing as "best" settings; otherwise Nikon would have just provided those "best" settings and that is the end of the story. It is a matter of personal preferences and what type of subject you are shooting at the moment. In other words, I change my settings depending on what I am shooting; I have different settings for sports, children, landscape, wedding ....</p>

<p>Anyone with a camera at the D300S level should always keep a RAW file just in case you need it. If you find RAW difficult to deal with initially since you are new to digital photography, shoot RAW + JPEG fine so that you have the best of both worlds.</p>

<p>Two settings I would pay attention to first are Custom Settings a1 and a2. A lot of auto focus issues are due to wrong focus priority and release priority expectations.</p>

<p>Thom Hogan's D300S guide would be a good place to start. I was one of the volunteers proofreaders for his original D300 guide, but that was not a paid job and I have no financial relationship with him. Hogan is very thorough and has a lot of good advices for people who are new to digital. If anything, he may be providing too much information than you need.</p>

<blockquote>