D200 and dark pictures

mario_a__buenos_aires_

Hi everybody. I need your help.

I’m an amateur and very happy with my FM2n and N90s, but I decided to explore the digital world. I can´t afford a

D300, so I bought a D200, not a top of the line camera, but one that can help me a lot as a first approach to digital

technology.

Unfortunately the results were not good, the camera showed a systematic underexposure, in many cases around 2

stops and under different conditions of lighting. (I´m not talking about back light) Photographs looked dark in

camera´s and PC monitors and prints. Most of the pictures were shot with center weighted metering, I´m familiar with

this type of metering and have no problem using it with my older cameras. Other settings where those provided by

factory. In this conditions, most of the shots showed histograms with no values behind 130 to the right.

I sent the camera to Nikon service. The tests showed no evidence of failure in the meter system, aperture and

shutter devices, but the underexposed images persisted. I’m very grateful with Nikon technicians, they compared my

camera with another D200, took pictures with both and several lenses. After that, they decided to advise the

commercial department to change the camera. And they did that, I got a new camera! But it also underexposes!

I tested my FM2n, Minolta IVF lightmeter and the new D200 against an almost medium gray surface. These were the

results (all @ ISO 400, and covering the same area and center metering with both cameras)

FM2n: 1/60 f 5.6

IVF 1/60 f5.6

D200: 1/60 f 10

In almost 20 years as user of Nikon equipment I have never had this kind of problem. I don´t think setting a “default”

exposure compensation of +1.3 o +1.7 is a good solution for a camera of this type. Metering in digital is quite

different than in film?

I´ll very much appreciate comments from this forum

Try matrix metering.