occurs. I have the camera set to A (automatic f stop and speed) with

3D or spot metering, I've adjusted the ISO from 200 to 1600, all with

the same results. If the sun is to my back most shots come out

OK...I'm still learning. The 80-400 comes with a hood but when you

attach the polorized filter the hood is no longer usable. It appears

the outer ring of the polorized filter is 80+mm. Did I purchase the

wrong Nikon polorized filter? Can anyone offer guidance on settings

to prevent the dark subjects?

The D100 underexposes high contrast shots, period. Apparently this was intentional; from what I've read Nikon was concerned about the camera blowing out highlights, and assumed (rightly, I'd say) that users of a digital camera would prefer to have the highlight detail maintained while fixing the rest of the exposure in the computer. If you want true white in your unretouched photo, you'll need to use exposure compensation for high-contrast scenes. I confess I'd gotten pretty complacent about matrix metering in my Nikon film cameras; now suddenly I have to think again. Oh well.

And your polarizer, as long as it is a circular polarizer, should be just fine (if it's a linear polarizer the lens probably wouldn't be able to autofocus).

By the way, setting the camera to A means the camera is set to Aperture Priority, not automatic. If you want the camera to figure out f-stop and shutter speed for you, you need to set it to P for Program.

Also, I'd recommend (while I'm at it) not using automatic white balance. Get into the menu and experiment with different settings. I usually have mine set to Cloudy -3 -- it's equivalent to a modest warming filter.