custom white balance at a wedding?

courtney_pianki

<p>Hi everyone,<br>

I have been reading your forum lately. Everyone has very good advice. So I decided to throw out a question of my own.<br>

I am a portrait photographer - I photograph a lot of babies and kids in my home studio and outside. I have been talked into shooting my cousin's wedding (isn't this how everyone starts - ha). No - I'm really excited, but just trying to do all of my research.<br>

So my question is - I normally do a custom white balance, but is this realistic at a wedding? Or does lighting change so much at a wedding that auto WB would be better?<br>

Thank you for your advice.<br>

Courtney</p>

<p>I don't rely on auto white balance, therefore I'm changing the white balance settings a lot during weddings. Some people shoot RAW with auto white balance and adjust for the color using one of the photoshop programs. I shoot RAW but prefer setting the white balance as needed.</p>

<p>Courtney -</p>

<p>What do you feel most comfortable doing? Don't change your workflow for a wedding - especially your first. </p>

<p>Me personally - I use auto, but shoot in RAW and for the formals I have someone hold a WB card for me for a shot or two so I know I've got white, black, grey... Because a "Black" tux usually isn't nor is a "White" dress always white.</p>

<p>Dave</p>

<p>Use RAW and ignore camera white balance. White balance setting is not used by the camera in RAW (except for the on-camera display) and is only used as a starting point for the RAW processor. Photograph a digital target when doing the formals so that you have a reference point for RAW processing white balance. For the other photographs (prep, procession, reception, etc.) close is good enough. Weddings are relatively easy in that regard as the dress (usually) is white and that has to be correct. If the dress is not white just match it to the formal photographs.</p>