Culling website photos and archiving the old ones

cindy_smith5

<p>I am an avid amateur photographer. I have and website, a blog. I am on Facebook, Google+, 500px. I subscribe to Kelbytraining and Photo.net. I, mostly, sell my work locally. Recently I got an email from someone who had seen one of my photos in Google/Images. He wanted to purchase the rights for a website. Awesome. The power of the web.<br>

However, this is not my question. I have read that to maintain your website you should present maybe 20 or so of your best works per section and cull the ones that are not as high a quality. This makes sense.<br>

But my question is this, when culling your images, what do you do with your other images? How do you archive them? As an example, the image the person wanted for his website would probably be one that I might cull in the future. If I remove the image from my website, then the link from search engine will be broken. In this case, no sale.<br>

So what do other photographers do with the images that no longer appear on their website, yet they still want others to have exposure to? I have not read or seen any information on this issue, so any advice would be greatly appreciated.</p><div>[ATTACH=full]729089[/ATTACH]</div>

<p>I know of many photographers who present only a limited, carefully curated selection of photos on their professional websites, but also use Flickr, Tumblr and other casual sites to post everything else: stuff that doesn't quite fit their pro sites, but which are good photos; and often just their personal snapshots and photo blogs.</p>

<p>Regarding keeping photos with old links intact on your site, but more or less hidden, that's a great question - I'd like to learn some tips as well.</p>