CRT's are definitely better than LCDs for image work. That said, I'm using as LCD - the only reason is that here in Taiwan, it's now impossible to buy high end CRTs. In fact the only CRTs available are old stock that hasn't sold. Ironic considering that Viewsonic is a Taiwanese company and they still make great CRTs here in Taiwan - they just don't sell them here,

I am not sure a CRT are better, (if whe compare excellent CRT VS excellent LCD) but i prefer

to get a *cheaper* CRT if i dont have the extra money to get the best LCD. there is too many

cheap LCD around iand i think that people compare those to CRT.

I have a LCD monitor myself, Apple Cinema Display 20inch, i am a professional

photoretoucher and i will never go back to CRT. Of course i calibrate my screen every month,

not because its a LCD, because i want color management.

Patrick, what you said is true - I was generalizing in my statement. I probably should have been more specific, but I posted it just after getting home from work. You know how it is. I probably should have prefaced it with - at a similar price point, CRTs are better. Most (all?) of the sub $500/600 LCDs are 6 bit screens.

<i>Most (all?) of the sub $500/600 LCDs are 6 bit screens.</i>

<p>I just replaced my aging CRT with a Dell 1905FP LCD. It has a Samsung 8-bit display and costs somewhere between $300 and $400, depending on what promotion they happen to be running. It needs to be calibrated with a colorimeter before it's usable for photography; otherwise the grayscale has strange biases and images look washed out. But once it's calibrated it works very well. I think my new monitor displays images better than the old one (a Mitsubishi 900u).