Crown Graphic lens recommendations

frank r

I want to buy a Crown Graphic. If anyone is interested in selling

theirs, please see the WTB ad I just placed in the Classified section.

I would like recommendations for additional PRE-OWNED lenses to fit

the Crowns. I shoot only outdoors, mostly landscapes and buildings.

I have no experience with the additional camera movements but look

forward to learning.

Please give your recommendations for quality versus price. Of

course, I am looking for those hidden gems (good quality at a

relatively low price), so if you are particularly fond of a certain

lens, let me know. The average selling price would be greatly

appreciated if you know it.

Yes, I have viewed other posts here and at graflex.org.

My first choice will be a longer focal length lens. Other posts seem

to favor the 210mm or 240mm length. What is the longest lens that

the Crown can handle (I don't mind removing the lens to close the

camera)?

My second choice will be a 90mm lens.

BTW: If you happen to be interested in selling any of these lenses,

send me a email; it will save me the trouble of placing another WTB

ad.

Check on eBay. There are lots of Crowns and Speeds for sale, every day. I wouldn't bid much over $200 unless it appears exceptional. Watch out for the "estate sale" items (the "I don't know anything about these, but..." listings) - best to look for a seller who is selling other photographic equipment and knows the merchandise.

You're unlikely to find one with anything other than a 127 or 135 lens. Crowns and Speeds were mostly sold as press cameras, and the press wanted a point-and-shoot, hand-held camera. This meant a relatively wide-angle lens.

If landscapes are your interest, these are good lenses and probably more suitable than a longer lens. For buildings, though, there's typically little excess image circle to accommodate tilts and shifts.