Crap! Do I have management all wrong?

<p>Browsing a recent unrelated PN post I read the following:</p>

<blockquote>

<p>The changes you make are all tracked in a database and not actually applied to the image until you tell it to export a particular version. So, if you want to try a few different looks, like sepia, b&w, both with & without a vignette, you can see them all at the same time & compare. WITHOUT making 4 different copies & then applying the changes.</p>

</blockquote>

<p>I'm currently using LR 2.6 for my (very novice) editing and what I thought was photo management. Being self taught (4 months), I've historically imported the photos I want, tag/edit/manipulate/print etc and then export them back into the original windows file I got them from (yes making epic amounts of copies which I thought were needed). The quote above was talking directly about Aperture however eluded to LR doing things the same way.</p>

<p>Without calling me an idiot (I have that covered!) can someone clarify:<br>

1. Should I just be importing, tagging and leaving everything in LR?<br>

2. Does the above even apply to LR?<br>

3. How many photos can LR hold (database?) or is this even a factor given that its not saving physical copies, just creating 'templates' as it were?</p>

<p>Thanks for any advice. I think its evident that I've been approaching this all wrong. J</p>

James, do a search on LR develop mode, and LR library mode, or, read or watch a few basic tutorial about the same on (youtube) and your questions will have answers. LR is NON destructive . . . You need to change completely how you think about images management and manipulation when youre using LR. . .

Tony

1. Yes!

2. Yes!

3. Lots

Like Aperture, Lightroom is designed for non-destructive editing and cataloging. The way I use it (and

everyone I've ever talked to) is to import raw files into lightroom, make adjustments, tag, etc. and then