Corporate event hourly fee - what to charge?

Hi,

I was asked by event coordinator of a large clothing company in New York City about my hourly rate to cover events and town halls. He saw me at another event and loved the event work on my site.

He asked for my hourly rate for events lasting 2-6 hours. What pricing structure do you charge and is there a minimum amount of hours you bill for? Should I counter by first asking them what their budget is?

Do you have different rates for the first couple of hours in case the event is only 2 hours?

What is your post-processing fee per hour?

Do you charge separately for national/international usage?

Do you charge differently for different events or charge a flat fee for every event?

Some have more degree of difficulty such as a corporate headshot session so I am careful to just name one price.

What kind of words do you use not to lock yourself into that rate?

I have 20 years experience in the news business as an employee and I am transitioning to more corporate work. I also specialize in portraiture and own my own lighting equipment. I find it refreshing to do event work as it is a nice change from the news business.

Thanks.

I don't have a different hourly rate for events based on length, but I do have a minimum number of hours (3 for most events). Language-wise I simply say that until a retainer is received and contract is signed, the rate is subject to change. Once they contract at that rate, you are locked into that rate. If you're concerned about someone hiring you too far in advance that your prices might change, put a limit on how far in advance you can be booked for such an event.

I include post-processing in the rate I charge. It's simpler for the client, plus it looks less like you are charging them for every little thing. You've been doing this long enough to know what your post-processing flow is like, so you can charge accordingly.