Coolscan 8000/9000 35mm strip film holder tips

<p>Hi, I've been using the Coolscan 8000 to scan various media for 2,5 years now and lately something has started to annoy me. That is the inability of the FH-835S 35mm strip film holder to keep film flat enough. I was wondering if someone could share some tips on improving the situation?<br>

The problem is that most of the time, the film grain is sharp and tight in the area where I focused the scan on, but in the corners and edges of the frame, the grain goes significantly softer. I believe the film is slightly curving itself upwards in the holder even though you would think that the top part of the holder won't let it.<br>

I can get around the problem by putting the film to be scanned under a big pile of books for 2-5 days. But often I just don't want to wait that long. <br>

So what I would like to know, is if someone has figured out a neat trick that would help? Other than patience or learning to live with it, that is.</p>

<p>Get the Nikon glass carrier. That'll sandwich the film strip between two glass sheets and keep it flat. I haven't tried this with 135, but it should be fine if you just specify 6x9 to Nikonscan.</p>

<p>For a DIY solution, you can get the requisite ANR glass from <a href="http://cgi.ebay.com/ANR-Glass-For-Nikon-8000-9000-Epson-V750-700-Others_W0QQitemZ320482654611QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_0?hash=item4a9e413993">this fellow</a>. You will still need two glass sheets, but only one of them has to be ANR. A single glass sheet will still allow the film to bow unacceptably.</p>

<p>Lastly, try focus stacking. This can be a real hassle because multiple scans are necessary, with each pass focused on a slightly different height. The scans will also be slightly mis-registered relative to each other so will require realignment in post.</p>